I will try my best to provide detailed info on various cars and what is like to live with them, I have already produced a few for Jaguar-car-forums, I will do my best to be unbiased, but it will be hard for some cars. I will re-produce press releases and copy from other motoring news.

Wednesday, 2 November 2016

The Irish Car Of The Year goes to the Mercedes-Benz E-Class, with the C-Class Coupe taking a segment honour.

The Irish Car of the Year Awards in association with Continental tyres took place last night, October 27th, at the Powerscourt Hotel, Enniskerry.
Journalists from Print, online and broadcasting hosted a gala black-tie event attended by Ireland’s leading car brands, importers, distributors & other motoring dignitaries.
Mercedes-Benz took the top award with their E-Class and also a category win with the C-Class Coupé, crowned Irish Medium Car of the Year 2017.
ICOTY Committee member Michael Sheridan “E Class has set the bar to new heights.”
ICOTY Committee member John Galvin “We’ve had 40 years of Irish Car of the Year and the E-Class is an exceptional winner.”
Tom Dennigan of Continental Tyres said about the awards “Continental is delighted to be associated with Irish Car of the Year, an event that continues to be the highlight of the motoring year.”
Stephen Byrne, Chief Executive, Mercedes-Benz in Ireland, said: “We are honoured to win the Irish Car of the Year 2017 award. This accolade bestowed by Irish motoring journalists is a recognition of the advanced technology and features to be found in the new generation E-Class.”
The category winners:
  • Suzuki Baleno - Irish Small Car of the Year 2017
  • Mercedes-Benz C-Class Coupé - Irish Medium Car of the Year 2017
  • Mercedes-Benz E-Class - Irish Large Car of the Year 2017
  • Peugeot 2008 - Irish Small SUV of the Year 2017
  • Hyundai Tucson - Irish Medium SUV of the Year 2017
  • Ford Edge - Irish Large SUV of the Year 2017
  • Ford Mustang - Irish Performance/Sports Car of the Year 2017

The category winners were all in the running for the top honour with the judging panel of close to 30 journalists electing E-Class by a landslide margin.
The Irish Car of the Year committee

Bob Flavin, John Galvin, Michael Moroney and Michael Sheridan